E is attempting to be cautious with this alchemy stuff

I think at this point I’ve dithered enough about the whole diy serum bugaboo.  I don’t want to leave you all hanging, and those return policies only stick around so long.  Therefore, in order to get over my anxiety of whipping up 2oz of precious ingredients into a serum that doesn’t work – or worse, burns my face off or something, I have decided to make a small batch of serum.  Just to test things out and get over my fears.

I have a lovely blue glass bottle that will hold 2oz.  I’m going to make about 0.28oz – one seventh of my container’s capacity.  I’ve converted and unconverted measurements from drops to teaspoons to ounces.  I’ve determined that diy is kinda unscientific when it comes to this stuff.  Big surprise there.  But it looks like a concentration of approx. 3-5% essential oils is the ideal for serums.  I’m going for 4.6% = 6 drops.  Here’s my dilemma: I’m using a rose oil dilution, and the makers won’t divulge the ratio.  I tried my luck and emailed them, but no such luck.  So I’m assuming at highest the concentration is 10% rose essence, but I highly doubt it.

If this works, I’ll make a larger batch and fit some more essential oils in, but for now, this is my tester recipe:


0.28 oz tester serum, or 1.7 tsp

1 tsp argan oil

1/2 tsp grapeseed oil

1/8 tsp rosehip oil

6 drops essential oil

  • 1 carrotseed
  • 2 tea tree
  • 1 tangerine
  • 8 rose blend (>1 drop)
  • 1 frankincense
Leave a Reply

