E is SMITTEN with Deb Perelman of Smitten Kitchen

Long time ago, E went online to find a recipe for something.  She can’t remember what, exactly.  Probably something overly ambitious.  But the Google led her to it, a clean, tidily organized site, updated on the regular.  The directions were clear, the language was engaging and witty.  The photos, oh.  Hungry now, WHY.

The photos looked so good, the ingredients looked right.  She displayed pictures of messy pans which somehow reassured me that I would only need four pots and not every cooking utensil in my kitchen.  I made it, and it was good.

Actually, it was more like a bomb went off and my folks have continued to demand I cook ever since.  I am now the dinner maker.  Of all the Smitten Kitchen recipes I’ve made, only the raspberry ricotta scones have failed me.  But I can’t bring myself to blame the glue-like result on Deb.  Scones just aren’t prepared to deal with me yet.

So without further ado, here are some of the Smitten recipes I return to again and again.  Asterisk for insane.

Zuni café’s roasted chicken *

coq au vin *

buttermilk roast chicken *

oven braised beef with tomatoes and garlic *

cornmeal fried pork chops with smashed potatoes

zucchini rice gratin *

barley risotto with beans and greens

baked eggs with spinach and mushrooms

apple sharlotka *

carrot cake with maple-cream cheese frosting

gingerbread snacking cake *

the ‘I want chocolate cake’ cake

crispy salted oatmeal white chocolate cookies *

hot fudge sauce

decadent hot chocolate mix *

espresso granita

Leave a Reply

